Life is a journey, not a destination.

Me – “I don’t understand why people make such a big deal about moving!?? I moved to a place about an hour away from where I used to live last year and still I was asked a bajillion times, how I made it through the relocation alive. Well, let me tell you that I am indeed alive and kicking, thanks to my new home and my new found identity (have to say, makes me sound like a superhero of some sort).”

Reader – “Hello wonderwoman?? Had your so called “moment”? Now listen. People ain’t as insensitive as you are!!!!! For you leaving a city or relocating elsewhere might not be a significant change, but for me, it means leaving behind my childhood home, where I made many memories and friends, who made me the person I am today. So yeah, it’s gonna take more than a “funny cum sarcastic cum condescending” blog post to make me want to want to move. Capisce?”

Me – “Okayyy, now this insensitive “person” (am I allowed to call myself a person?) will try and sell this idea to you. Location has nothing to do with maintaining friendship. Period. I know people who are BFFs’ in its original meaning, living in opposite corners of the world. Heck, I know people living in the same city and still losing their friends over a busy worklife, relationships, parenthood or even over a good book . Example – you and I sister! So don’t give me that shit. It takes a certain personal effort if you want to be a part of someone’s life. Also, if you’re justifying losing touch with a person merely because they live in another city/country, then sweety, that person means nothing more than last night’s kebab. You know it, she knows it, your next door neighbor knows it. Don’t deny it and act like the poor victim, who had her precious friend taken away from her by geographical factors. As far as leaving behind your childhood home, where you claim to have made so many memories, is concerned, just imagine how relieving it would be to never have to be reminded of the night you peed in your bed when you walk into your room. There are only so many times one can take that memory. You are merely holding onto your past and not giving your future self an opportunity to be whoever he/she wants to be. Imagine the possibilities:-

– Experimented with your sexual orientation as a teenager? Never mind. Your lesbian phase will be forgotten and you will be given a fresh start. Go nuts!

– Want to have long, lustrous hair? – wear hair extentions and people won’t even notice it. You can almost skip over the part where they will judge you for it.

– Sick of being the shy, softspoken pushover but afraid it’s too late to unleash the strong, independant side of you? Pack your bags and show them what you’re made of.

I can just go on and on… Sure, you can do all of the above without having to move, but how many of us would actually even consider doing it, let alone actually do it? Moving to a new city will not only give you an opportunity to do those things but will also make it easier for you because now you don’t have to justify yourself to anybody. We keep changing as we grow up. People usually don’t welcome that change, so we feel scared and sometimes even intentionally supress ourselves from changing into someone we really are. Trust me, moving is a blessing in disguise. So if you are given that blessing, I say run for it.”

Reader – “STOP!!!! thanks for not disappointing me on the condescending front. If you are so desperate to wear hair extentions, then by all means move to another city ‘cos that seems totally sensible and absolutely sane. I can live without it, thank you very much.”

Me – “I see you have decided to hold onto the most important point I tried to make with my “condescending” pitch. Sigh. Suit yourself (bitch).”

To the other (sensible) readersย – Through this post, I really wanted to endorse the idea of moving to new places and experiencing “the best of both worlds” concept as we grow up . Only a few of us are given that opportunity, thanks to our military officer dad or an Income tax officer mom, but those who get this opportunity don’t realize what they can do with it and more often than not are seen whining about the change in their mechanical life.

Accept the change and embrace the chances that comes with it. Happy moving!!

Life is a journey and it’s about growing and changing and coming to terms with who and what you are and loving who and what you are – Kelly McGillis

Subscribe for more Indian humor.

6 thoughts on “Life is a journey, not a destination.

  1. I felt bad and still feel for leaving Mumbai. Like you said, I have been following nomadic style of life; from Mumbai, couple of places in TN, in Kerala and then I started roaming internationally. But to be honest, I don’t think I have been more happy anywhere than in Mumbai. Childhood friends, cricket and soccer matches and the unmatched crowd ๐Ÿ˜› Feels like it’s time to pay a visit to Mumbai.
    Thanks for sharing and I hope you get to travel around and then whine like me ๐Ÿ™‚
    Cheers

    Like

    • I want to travel a lot. Believe or not I haven’t been around that much…Kerala during summer vacation and Baltimore to visit my bro…a school trip to Goa and a tag along with my friend to coorgh but other than that nothing substantial… Guess I am saving all of the trips with my special someone ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

  2. Dear ‘whatever your name is’,

    I would suggest you to stay for a couple of months if possible at any place you visit. All the places I have traveled I have stayed more than 6 months, longest in Mumbai and shortest in Kerala (which happens to be my native) and to be honest with you I have seen the best and worst.

    Whenever you trip with your special one, you could think of staying at the place for a while to have a real time experience. Coorgh is in my wishlist and I know Baltimore from Scarface (remember the babe dressed in green).

    Wish you luck. Cheers

    Like

    • Hahaha yeah I hear you!!!!! I have a lot of catching up with traveling and experiencing new things, which I intend on catching up to real soon ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for your advice..appreciate it ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  3. I have lived 6 years in Bombay, 4 years in Anand, 10 years in Ahmedabad, and now 5+ years in Baroda..
    Of these, Bombay was the most fun.. The city does have a thing to it.. It was always during my early teen days. Anand was during college, so there were new found friends, after college life and hostel, and Baroda’s cause it’s my job and I can do what ever the hell I want with my money.
    Each of the cities that I ‘ve lived in has memories associated for different reasons.
    It’s been years since I visited Bombay though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

    • Ohh you’ve really been around eh!? It’s nice. See the more you move around, the more experiences you get to live so that was exactly my point with this post. I have friends who can’t seem to move to another city without whining and making a big deal about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

